Building a townThe moving train carriage was funThere were lots of interesting things to see in the new Brunel museum.In the afternoon we went on a minibeast hunt.We had to put the 'hot' rivets into the holesIce play

National Curriculum

There are two key stages of education at the Infant school.

The first is the Foundation stage for all reception children. Children in Reception are in their final year of the Foundation stage of education. There are six areas of the curriculum:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional development
  2. Communication, Language and Literacy
  3. Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
  4. Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  5. Physical development
  6. Creative development.

The second is Key Stage 1 for children in year 1 and year 2.

The new national curriculum for Key stage 1 has been implementmented as of this September 2014 and  sets out what all state schools are required to teach. It consists of programmes of study for each subject which describe what is to be taught and levels of attainment for each subject. This outlines what children should be able to do. The core subjects are English, Mathematics and Science.

There are also the foundation subjects which include Computing, Art and Design, Design Technology, Geography, History, Physical Education, RE and Music. In addition, Personal, Social Health Education is an important part of our curriculum.

Religious Education has local guidance about content but is still a compulsory part of the curriculum.

All these subjects are taught in a cross curricular way through our topic based approach. For more detail see 'The Henleaze Curriculum'.

Year 1 National Curriculum 2016 Overview

Year 2 National Curriculum 2016 Overview

Copyright © 2019 Henleaze Infants School
Web Design and Development by Evergreen Computing