National Curriculum

There are two key stages of education at the Infant school.

Early Years Foundation Stage

The first is the Early Years Foundation Stage for all Reception children. Children in Reception are in their final year of the Foundation Stage of education. There are seven areas of the curriculum:

  1. Communication and Language
  2. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  3. Physical Development
  4. Literacy
  5. Mathematics
  6. Understanding the World
  7. Expressive Arts and Design

Key Stage 1

The second is Key Stage for children in Year 1 and Year 2.

The National Curriculum for Key Stage 1 sets out what all state schools are required to teach. It consists of program of study for each subject which describes what is to be taught and levels of attainment for each subject. This outlines what children should be able to do. The core subjects are English, Mathematics and Science.

There are also the Foundation Subjects which include Computing, Art and Design, Design Technology, Geography, History, Physical Education, Religion and Worldviews and Music. Our Religion and Worldviews curriculum follows a locally agreed syllabus. Personal Social Health Education (including Relationships and Sex Education) is an important part of our curriculum too.  We follow the Jigsaw program to teach children key skills and and knowledge through class activities and assemblies.

All these subjects are taught in our broad and ambitious curriculum.

Henleaze Infant School © 2024